Imagine

It is one of my earliest childhood memories.  A few days before my 5th birthday. My father walking through the kitchen door pale as a ghost.  My mother picking up the ringing phone and through it I hear my aunt, her younger sister screaming through tears “They killed him…they killed him…they killed John.”  My mother ran to my father and threw her arms around him going “What happened, what happened?”

Imagine there’s no heaven
It’s easy if you try
No hell below us
Above us only sky
Imagine all the people
Living for today…

bellagheeimagine_001

I didn’t know who John was.  I got scared because at 5 you don’t really understand death, murder or even grieving for someone you don’t know.  You don’t get at that young age how someone you have never ever met, never interacted with personally, could impact your life.

Imagine there’s no countries
It isn’t hard to do
Nothing to kill or die for
And no religion too
Imagine all the people
Living life in peace…
You may say I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will be as one
bellagheeimagine2_001
It took me about 7 years to really understand and appreciate the immensity of what the world lost that cold December day in 1980 on the Upper West Side of Manhattan.  At that age music started to impact my life. There was always music playing in our house, in the car.  I started to take my mom and dad’s old 45’s (records for those too young to know what the term means) and listen to them up in my room, holding my little tape recorder next to the record player so I could put the songs on cassettes.  Music ranging from Led Zepplin, Big Brother & the Holding Company, Elvis, Sinatra, Hendrix, Madonna, Michael Jackson, showtunes….all different genres I grew up appreciating.  But there was one group I was raised on the most…The Beatles.
Imagine no possessions
I wonder if you can
No need for greed or hunger
A brotherhood of man
Imagine all the people
Sharing all the world…
bellagheeimagine3_001
35 years later, the world still mourns what was stolen from it on this day. Not only a brilliant musician, poet, humanitarian, but someone who was outspoken in his beliefs that we as a human race could live in peace and co-exist with each other.  That he was not the only one who believed this but also wanted this.  In a few days, I will turn 40 in real life.  The same he was when the world lost him…and I realize how much more he had to give, had to live. How the world was robbed of something beautiful by someone insane.
You may say I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will live as one
“Imagine” by John Lennon
35 years since his death and 44 years since he recorded what many to be his greatest musical gift to the world and we are no closer to this dream.
Rest In Peace John
October 9, 1940 – December 8, 1980
Hair – Amber in Blacks – Analog Dog
Dress – Aran Knit Dress – Ghee *Frozzen Fair Exclusive*
Boots – Mishi Thigh High Boots – Reign
Poses – Thrust Poses and Di’s Opera
Leave a Reply

