Generosity

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us….And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”  Marianne Williamson: A Return to Love: Reflections on the Principles of “A Course in Miracles”

For all the craptastic stuff you hear going on in the world and in SL, I am honestly amazed by people’s generosity.  I don’t believe that more bad stuff is happening in the world today as it has in the past, just as I do not believe that less good stuff is not happening.  I believe in the age of the internet and social media, we hear much faster about ALL the bad stuff as it’s happening or just moments after.  And while we all love a solider being greeted by their dog after a long deployment, that’s not the thing that sells newspapers or starts big long discussions or debates in the world.  Humans wait until things get so bad to make any real change.  I think as a species we have an “if it’s not broke don’t fix it mentality”.

bellatwa3gwenslightopeneyes_001 But I love hearing stories about the waitress who got the 10K tip from a stranger.  I could watch endless hours of dogs being reunited with their owners, or former students from three generations getting together to honor a teacher.  Coptic Christians in Egypt protecting their Islamic brothers and sisters during riots so that they could pray.  These are the stories I want to hear, that I like to share more of.  In SL too, generosity is all around. We all hear the nasty mean stories and the SL blogosphere blows up when you hear about the bitchy model or the mean designers.  The shifty Sim owner.  But I don’t think there has been a single person who is in SL who hasn’t had generosity from someone. Than random compliment, or the offer to help for no other reason than “we were all noobs once”.  I know my “modeling” career would not be where it is (where that is I don’t know) without the help of the generosity of many people….who shared their time, talents and in some cases even linden, to help me out.  The only caveat to their help was that I “Pay it forward” and I try always, thinking I would not be where I am without the help of others.

bellatwa2gwenslight_001The topic of generosity popped into my head when I got home from work today and I logged into my SL Facebook.  Morgane Batista was offering, to the first two ladies who sent her their names, a dress from The White Armory.  I am sure she is friends with the designer and it’s an amazing way to get publicity for this already extremely well known store in SL, but still, it wasn’t something she nor the designer (if the designer had anything to do with it) had to do.  There was no asking that I blog this dress (which I am, cause I put it on and went oooh pretty) and it got me started thinking about this topic and styling it was FUN!  I don’t normally shop at TWA.  I have always admired their designs, but it’s just not a place I think to go to.

I have always believe in the Law of Attraction.  You get what you give.  The bestselling book/video “The Secret” is all about the law of attraction and being grateful for what we already have.  If we are not, why would the universe see fit to give us anymore.   Sure there are days I forget to be grateful and there are days that I am stingy, we all are. No one is 100% altruistic. We do things to make ourselves feel good, but at the same time, when we are generous, when we share of ourselves, we pass those good feelings on to others.

bellatwa1gwenslight_001

Hair – Neria in Blacks and Whites – Truth
Horns – Chained Up Horns in Blue & Black – Spoiled Lil Bra (old gatcha item)
Eyeshadow – Fire Fox in Artic – Gauze

Lipstick – Simone Lips in Lavendar – Silken Moon
Necklace – Bauble Texture Change Cluster Set – Zibska
Dress – Lostwithiel Lake Mesh Gown Set in Celestine – The White Armory
Poses – Di’s Opera

Items from the White Armory were a gift but not required review items.

 

5 thoughts on “Generosity

  1. thanks dear, i’m glad you like it. And i can confirm that it was not Bee Dumpling’s (the designer) idea. I simply wanted to please some people and share. I told Bee what i was doing, but i was not told to do it. I’ve always liked to give to others when i can :o)

  2. Beautifully written! And just for the record…she gave from her heart with a generous spirit and kindness for a friend. The designer was a passive observer. ❤️ But no less touched by the deed. 💋

  3. Pingback: Generosity | Second Life Fashion Addict

Leave a Reply

